Anything that You can Imagine, You can Create

03/11/2016 20:16

My definition of Engineering is the Imaginative Application of the Laws of Physics. You are always constrained by what is Physically Possible, but the Opportunties afforded by Physics turn out to have a Combinatorially Many Degrees of Freedom.

Nature Computes. Sensory systems, cortical processing regions, integrated circuits evolve their states in accordance with the laws of physics. My aim is to discover the principles behind the evolution of these systems and then use these principles to create novel artifacts such as pondering machines and self-organizing complex systems.

It begins with asking a question from nature, querying it through experiments. And when you have the answer, you can try to construct a description, a simulation of the mechanisms that produced it. You can make a generalization from one particular outcome, by constructing a system that produces an array of different outcomes when you change the parameters or inter-relationships of the parts.

Evolution could have taken different historical turns in engineering living beings. Other avenues could have been explored. But Evolution discovered Music and Rhythms and Synchronization. It discovered patterns and patterns that process patterns. Now we have chips that produce computational outcomes for different inputs and thus give us answers to questions that we ask and the ability to store information that we wish to safe-keep for the future. Artificial systems augment our interaction with reality, creating a auxiliary useful layer for exporting some of the computation that we need.

Einstein once said: ""If I were not a physicist, I would probably be a musician. I often think in music. I live my daydreams in music. I see my life in terms of music. ... I get most joy in life out of music."

My goal is to discover how to use rhythms and feedback loops in systems that emulate neural function, to create systems with trajectories, perceptions and goals.